Archive for November 2010

Medicare Part D Enrollment Period to begin November 15 through December 31st

Sarah Holm

Sarah Holm

The annual enrollment and renewal period for Medicare Part D will be upon us soon!  From November 15-December 31, 2010, Medicare Part D beneficiaries will have the opportunity to choose an affordable plan to cover their prescription drugs.  Why must a beneficiary renew their plan every year?  Medicare Part D plans are managed through private insurance companies, and every year these insurance companies modify what their plan offers.  As a beneficiary, in order to receive coverage that fits most appropriately with your needs, it is important to review your plan. If your plan is not renewing next year, they will notify you that you will need to obtain another plan.  If you do not personally choose your plan, Medicare will choose a plan for you.  The plan that Medicare chooses may not be the most cost effective or comprehensive plan for your needs.

How can a beneficiary renew their plan?  The renewal process can be completed online by using Medicare Plan Finder.

The website for this online service is: https://www.medicare.gov/find-aplan/questions/home.aspx

Is there someone who can help you with the online Plan Finder service? Yes!  Case Managers at the North/Eastside Senior Coalition are ready to help any community members on the North Side chose their new Part D plan.  Contact a case manager today by calling 608-243-5252 ext. 208.  Also, beneficiaries can call the Prescription Drug Helpline (Over age 60)

at 1-866-456-8211or the Disability Drug Benefit Helpline (under age 60) at 1-800-926-4826 if you have questions about plan renewal.

What should a beneficiary have ready before they access the Medicare Plan Finder service?  Beneficiaries should have their Medicare Part A and B identification numbers ready, found on Medicare cards.  Also, be sure to have a list of all your medications as well as dosage, frequency and cost per month of the medication on hand.

Navigating the complicated health care system can be confusing.  Just remember, you are not alone! At NESCO, there are people who care about your health care needs and are ready and willing to help you live well!

Mandatory Auto Insurance Began June 1

Cortney Doescher-Hino

Cortney Doescher-Hino

This article may be reprinted in your local newsletter.

Effective June 1, 2010, no one may operate a motor vehicle in Wisconsin unless the owner or operator has a motor vehicle liability policy in place covering that vehicle that has minimum liability limits of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for bodily injury and $15,000 for property damage. Drivers are also required to have proof of the vehicle’s liability coverage in their possession if they are asked to produce evidence of coverage by law enforcement officials.  (There are some limited exceptions to this requirement-contact the DOT for more information.)

Consumers who are unable to find auto insurance coverage in the private market will be able to obtain coverage from the Wisconsin Auto Insurance Plan (WAIP). Information on WAIP is available at the plan’s website at https://www.wcrb.org/WAIP/WAIP_Home_Page.htm or by telephone at (262) 796-4599.

Drivers may be asked to produce evidence of liability coverage if they are pulled over for a traffic violation or if they are involved in an accident. The law prohibits law enforcement officers from stopping a motorist to only verify insurance coverage. Verification of coverage may only be requested if a motorist is stopped for another reason, such as a traffic violation.

Drivers who are unable to produce evidence of coverage can face a fine of $10, which will be waived if they can provide proof of coverage to law enforcement at a later time. Motorists who do not have coverage can be fined up to $500. Anyone who produces fraudulent proof of coverage or represents that they have the coverage when they do not have coverage can be fined up to $5,000.